Home » Blog » 2020 DSREI Book Award

2020 DSREI Book Award

Book CoverAs Chair of the Diverse Sexualities Research and Education Institute (DSREI) Book Award Committee, it is my pleasure to announce that Bisexuality: Theories, Research, and Recommendations for the Invisible Sexuality edited by D. Joye Swan, Ph.D. and Shani Habibi, Ph.D. (Springer, 2018) was chosen unanimously as the winner of the 2020 DSREI Book Award. It is an exceptional book which illuminates a much-neglected topic in our field. As the Editors point out, when others refer to the LGBTQ+ communities, bisexuality tends to remain an afterthought. Swan and Habibi  and their contributors have provided an excellent, scholarly contribution to the literature! As the first book to win the DSREI Book Award, it sets the barre for the study of diversity in sexuality.

On behalf of  the DSREI Book Award Committee, congratulations to Swan and Habibi!


Peggy J. Kleinplatz, Ph.D., Chair
Maura Devereux, PA-C
Paul Fedoroff, M.D.
Anna Randall, MSW, MPH, DHS